Updated for 2026

Compare the best POS systems for retail and hospitality

Full point-of-sale tills that manage stock, staff and sales in one system — compared on industry fit and who they suit best.

This UK POS system comparison covers the platforms most restaurants, coffee shops and retailers actually shortlist — from single-till setups to multi-location hospitality groups. Every system below is scored on the same criteria: software cost, hardware requirements, industry fit and contract terms.

Pricing checked: 30 July 2026 POS pricing is software-led rather than volume-led, so this table uses rather than a live fee calculator.
🏆

Best overall

Square — no contract, transparent pricing, and dedicated Retail/Restaurants software as you grow.

💷

Best value

Loyverse — a genuinely free core POS app with no seat or store limit, plus paid add-ons only if you need them.

Best for ease of use

Lightspeed — clear published UK pricing and strong built-in inventory tools for independent retailers.

Compare:
ProviderBest forMonthly software costHardwareEst. annual software costContractWMP scoreAction
Square
All-in-one for small retail/hospitality £0 base (Retail Plus £49/mo optional) Reader £19, Terminal £149, Register £649 (+VAT)£0 None
★★★★☆4.5/5
See Square pricing (opens in a new tab)
View full Square details
Inventory
Included on Retail Plus; basic stock tracking on free tier
Staff management
Staff accounts and permissions included
Payment processing
1.75% in-person, bundled — no separate acquirer needed
Pricing checked
30 July 2026 — squareup.com/gb
Shopify POS
Businesses already selling on Shopify online £25-£1,800/mo by plan + POS Pro £69/mo/location Smartphone/tablet + card reader; accessories extra£300 Monthly (Plus: 1-3yr)
★★★★☆4.4/5
See Shopify POS pricing (opens in a new tab)
View full Shopify POS details
Payment processing
In-person: 1.7% (Basic), 1.6% (Grow), 1.5% (Advanced), custom (Plus) — no fixed fee
Inventory / staff
Full inventory, unlimited staff and rich customer profiles on the POS Pro add-on
Multi-location
Supports 1,000+ locations
Pricing checked
30 July 2026 — shopify.com/uk/pos/pricing
Loyverse
Budget-conscious small retail & hospitality Free (add-ons from £5/store/mo) Works on existing tablets/phones/Android POS — no proprietary hardware£0 None
★★★★☆4.2/5
See Loyverse pricing (opens in a new tab)
View full Loyverse details
Core app
Genuinely free — POS, Back Office reporting, Kitchen Display and Customer Display all included, no seat/store limit
Paid add-ons
Unlimited Sales History £5/store/mo, Employee Management £20/store/mo, Advanced Inventory £20/store/mo (annual billing = 2 months free on all three); 14-day free trial, no card required
Free-tier limitation
Sales history/reporting is time-limited on the free tier (widely reported as ~31 days, but not confirmed in Loyverse's own copy)
Payment processing
Via third-party partners only (SumUp, Zettle, Shift4 for the UK) — Loyverse doesn't set or publish the transaction fee itself
Support
Free tier: self-serve help centre + community forum only, no live chat. Paid add-on subscribers get 24/7 live chat
Pricing checked
30 July 2026 — loyverse.com/pricing
Lightspeed
Retailers needing strong inventory management £75/mo Basic, £149/mo Core, £189/mo Plus Priced separately; varies by business£900 Not disclosed
★★★★☆3.8/5
See Lightspeed pricing (opens in a new tab)
View full Lightspeed details
Inventory
Strong built-in inventory management across all tiers, plus loyalty and eCommerce
Extra costs
Additional locations and registers charged separately; one register included per plan
Payments
Integrated payment processing included
Pricing checked
30 July 2026 — lightspeedhq.com/uk/pricing
Toast
Established, feature-rich restaurant POS From £80/mo (Starter), £119+/mo (Point of Sale) £500-£1,200+ per terminal (outright)£960 Not disclosed
★★★☆☆3.5/5
See Toast pricing (opens in a new tab)
View full Toast details
UK fit — important
Toast markets a genuine UK presence (14% of the UK's "top restaurants" per its own figures), but the platform was originally designed exclusively for the US market — check feature/support parity for UK-specific needs before committing
Payment processing
2.49% + 15p in-person on paid plans, bundled
Features
Kitchen display system, online ordering, loyalty, labour management (some as paid add-ons)
Pricing checked
30 July 2026 — cross-checked (pos.toasttab.com pricing page blocked automated access)
TouchBistro
Full-service restaurants wanting their own acquirer From ~£59/mo (Solo), £129/mo (Dual), £249/mo (Team) iPad-based; hardware financing available for 2+ terminals£708 Annual minimum (UK)
★★★☆☆3.3/5
See TouchBistro pricing (opens in a new tab)
View full TouchBistro details
Payments — important
No TouchBistro Payments product in the UK — you must bring your own acquirer/payment processor separately
Features
Floor plan and table management, menu management, staff management, 24/7 support included
Add-ons
Kitchen display, inventory, loyalty, reservations and marketing priced separately — total can exceed £200/month
Pricing checked
30 July 2026 — cross-checked third-party UK sources (converted from USD pricing)
EPOS Now
UK retail & hospitality wanting bundled hardware From £54/mo (Complete Solution bundle) From £199-£349 (promotional pricing seen)£648 12 months (bundle)
★★★☆☆2.9/5
See EPOS Now pricing (opens in a new tab)
View full EPOS Now details
Payment processing
Flat rate for Visa/Mastercard/Diners/Discover, opt-in second rate for Amex/JCB/UnionPay — exact % not publicly disclosed
Features
Inventory tracking, staff scheduling (via Deputy integration), multi-location support
Support
Phone 0800 2 945 945
Pricing checked
30 July 2026 — eposnow.com/uk/pricing (promotional pricing, exact ongoing rate needs confirming)
Clover
Businesses with an existing reseller bank relationship ~£9.99-39.99/mo (indicative) Clover Flex ~£21+VAT/mo rental (indicative)~£120 (indicative) Reseller-dependent
★★☆☆☆2.3/5
Get a Clover quote (opens in a new tab)
View full Clover details
Important caveat
Clover is sold in the UK exclusively through bank resellers (e.g. Lloyds Cardnet, AIB Merchant Services) with no published UK price list — every figure here is indicative only and your reseller may quote differently
Processing fee
Reported flat rate ~1.49% on all card types (reseller-dependent, not officially confirmed)
Pricing checked
30 July 2026 — cross-checked third-party sources (official clover.com pricing page returned no usable content)
Vend
Existing Vend customers only Being merged into Lightspeed pricing iPad-basedNot disclosed Not disclosed
★★☆☆☆2.5/5
See Vend pricing (opens in a new tab)
View full Vend details
Important caveat
Lightspeed acquired Vend and is actively migrating users to "Lightspeed Retail X-Series" — the Vend brand still exists and can technically be signed up for, but new features are being built for Lightspeed, not Vend. Migration is expected to complete within 12-24 months
Recommendation
New customers should likely consider Lightspeed directly rather than signing up to Vend
Pricing checked
30 July 2026 — cross-checked third-party sources
Revel (Shift4)
Multi-site hospitality via a Shift4 partner Not publicly disclosed Dedicated POS hardwareNot disclosed Custom agreement
★★☆☆☆2.4/5
Get a Revel Systems quote (opens in a new tab)
View full Revel Systems details
Important caveat
Revel Systems was acquired by Shift4 in 2024 and its features are being merged into Shift4's own product (branded "Shift4 Dine", formerly SkyTab) — Revel as a standalone brand is being phased out
Pricing
No transparent UK pricing published; custom quote or third-party partner required
Pricing checked
30 July 2026 — revelsystems.com redirected to shift4.com during our check

Pricing and hardware bundles vary by provider, sector and reseller — always confirm current terms directly with the provider. We may earn a commission when you sign up through a link on this page, at no extra cost to you. See our Affiliate Disclosure and Editorial Policy.

Industry fit

Which POS system suits your industry?

Restaurants & cafes

Toast, TouchBistro and Square all offer table management, kitchen display integration and tipping built in.

Retail

Lightspeed and Vend lead on inventory depth, purchase orders and multi-location stock transfers.

Already selling online?

Shopify POS syncs stock and orders directly with your existing Shopify store to avoid double entry.

Just need a card reader, not a full till?

See our simpler comparison of standalone card readers.

Compare card readers