Updated for 2026

Compare mobile-first business accounts and open banking tools

Mobile-first business current accounts, plus the open banking infrastructure behind instant bank-to-bank payments.

This comparison covers the digital business banking apps and platforms UK sole traders and small businesses actually shortlist — app-first accounts you can open in minutes, alongside the open banking infrastructure some also run on behind the scenes. Each is scored on the same criteria: monthly fees, transfer allowances, features and support.

Pricing checked: 30 July 2026 See our WMP Score methodology.
Business accounts

Mobile business banking

🏆

Best overall

Starling Bank — genuinely free business account with unlimited free UK transfers and no catches.

💷

Best value

Anna Money's free tier gives strong invoicing tools with no monthly fee for new traders.

Best for ease of use

Tide — fast account opening and built-in invoicing, popular with sole traders and freelancers.

ProviderBest forMonthly feeEst. annual costWMP scoreAction
Starling Bank Business
No monthly fee & unlimited free transfers Free£0
★★★★★4.7/5
See Starling Business offers (opens in a new tab)
View full Starling details
Transfers
Unlimited free UK Faster Payments and BACS, no per-payment charge
Features
Accounting software integrations, team cards
Pricing checked
30 July 2026 — cross-checked third-party UK sources
Wise Business
International trading & multi-currency £50 one-off setup, no monthly fee£0/yr (£50 one-off)
★★★★★4.7/5
See Wise Business offers (opens in a new tab)
View full Wise Business details
Currencies
Hold, convert and send in 22 currencies; FX from 0.33% at the mid-market rate, volume discount above £20,000/month sent
Features
Invoicing, payment links, batch payments (up to 1,000 payees at once), team permissions, interest on GBP/EUR/USD balances, accounting software sync
Eligibility
Sole traders, limited companies, LLPs and partnerships; non-UK-resident directors/UBOs accepted for a UK-incorporated company
Support
24/7 via phone, email or chat
Best fit note
Weakest fit for a UK-only business with no FX needs — the £50 setup fee buys multi-currency features a domestic-only business wouldn't use
Pricing checked
30 July 2026 — wise.com/gb/business, wise.com/gb/pricing/business
Mettle
Free account with built-in FreeAgent accounting Free (Mettle+ £4/mo optional)£0
★★★★☆4.0/5
See Mettle offers (opens in a new tab)
View full Mettle details
Owned by
NatWest
Included
Free FreeAgent accounting software (worth ~£150+/year), Tax Pot and Scheduled Saver tools, 0% non-sterling card spend (per secondary sources)
Important limitation
No international bank transfers/SWIFT/CHAPS support — a genuine gap versus Wise Business or Revolut
Eligibility
Sole traders and limited companies with up to two owners (only one gets account access); UK tax-resident owners; FSCS protected up to £120,000
Pricing checked
30 July 2026 — mettle.co.uk (fees/tariff page not published; card/FX detail cross-checked via secondary sources)
Anna Money
Invoicing & expense tracking for new traders Free (Pay As You Go)£0
★★★★☆4.1/5
See Anna Money offers (opens in a new tab)
View full Anna Money details
Strengths
Strong invoicing and expense tools
Weaker area
Cash handling reported as a weaker point vs. competitors
Pricing checked
30 July 2026 — cross-checked third-party UK sources
Tide
Fast-opening account with built-in invoicing Free, or £12.49-£69.99/mo (Smart/Pro/Max)£0
★★★★☆4.1/5
See Tide offers (opens in a new tab)
View full Tide details
Free tier caveat
No monthly fee, but charges apply on bank transfers, non-sterling card transactions, and cash withdrawals/deposits
Paid tiers
Smart £12.49/mo, Pro ~£24.99-27.49/mo, Max £69.99/mo — unlock more free transfers and features
Pricing checked
30 July 2026 — cross-checked third-party UK sources
Monzo Business
Simple, app-first banking for small teams Free (Lite), £9/mo (Pro), £25/mo (Team)£0
★★★★☆4.2/5
See Monzo Business offers (opens in a new tab)
View full Monzo Business details
Free tier
No monthly fee, no domestic transfer fees, FSCS protection up to £120,000, expense "pots"
Paid tiers
Pro (£9/mo) and Team (£25/mo) unlock multi-user access, invoicing and budgeting tools
Pricing checked
30 July 2026 — cross-checked third-party UK sources
Zempler Bank
No credit check & overdraft available Go £0/mo, Extra £9/mo, Pro £19/mo£0
★★★★☆4.1/5
See Zempler Bank offers (opens in a new tab)
View full Zempler Bank details
Rebrand note
Formerly Cashplus Bank — cashplus.com now redirects to zemplerbank.com; use the current name in any new copy
Card/FX fees
Foreign transaction fee 2.99% (Go), fee-free abroad (Extra/Pro); domestic transfers free up to a monthly cap then 35p each
Features
Business overdraft up to £10,000; Pro tier adds dedicated account management, up to 1% cashback, unlimited ATM withdrawals
Eligibility
Sole traders, limited companies, partnerships and charities; no credit check or trading history required to open (per independent reviews, not primary-sourced)
Pricing checked
30 July 2026 — zemplerbank.com/business/current-account/pricing
Countingup
Built-in bookkeeping & HMRC VAT filing £3-£18/mo by deposit volume (3-month free trial)£36
★★★★☆4.0/5
See Countingup offers (opens in a new tab)
View full Countingup details
Tiers
£3/mo (deposits £0-£750), £9/mo (£750.01-£7,500), £18/mo (unlimited) — after a 3-month free trial
Features
Real-time tax estimate, automatic receipt/expense categorisation, free VAT filing direct to HMRC, invoicing with payment links
Eligibility
Sole trader or limited company (max two directors, all UK-resident); 18+, UK resident
Support limitation
9am-5pm Monday-Friday only — no weekend support, a recurring criticism in independent reviews
Pricing checked
30 July 2026 — countingup.com/pricing
Revolut Business
Growing businesses needing multi-currency £10/mo (Basic), £35/mo (Grow), £125/mo (Scale)£120
★★★★☆4.0/5
See Revolut Business offers (opens in a new tab)
View full Revolut Business details
Discount
Up to 28% off if you pay annually on Grow/Scale/Enterprise
Features
Strong multi-currency accounts and FX tools, expense cards for staff
Pricing checked
30 July 2026 — revolut.com/business (official fee pages)
Revolut Pro
Freelancers wanting premium perks £65/mo + VAT per person£780
★★★☆☆3.6/5
See Revolut Pro offers (opens in a new tab)
View full Revolut Pro details
Correction from earlier research
Revolut Pro is priced at £65/month + VAT per person — a premium tier justified by bundled perks/benefits (reported at £4,000+/year in value), not a low-cost entry option for solo freelancers as sometimes assumed. Compare carefully against Anna Money or Tide's free tiers if budget is the main concern
Pricing checked
30 July 2026 — cross-checked third-party UK sources
Coconut
Sole trader tax & Self Assessment filing £12.99/mo (flagship MTD Filing plan)£156
★★★☆☆3.3/5
See Coconut offers (opens in a new tab)
View full Coconut details
Important — not a full bank account
Coconut is a tax/bookkeeping and Making Tax Digital (MTD) filing app that connects to a bank account, not a standalone business current account like the other providers on this page — don't mistake it for a like-for-like alternative
Plans
MTD Bridging £49.99/year; MTD Filing £12.99/mo or £129.99/year (flagship); +Self Assessment £129.99/year; Full bundle £159.99/year. 14-day free trial, no card required
Eligibility — limited scope
Designed specifically for sole traders, landlords and CIS subcontractors; limited-company support is basic and doesn't cover Corporation Tax or statutory accounts
Card/FX fees
Not publicly disclosed — Coconut isn't a card-focused product
Pricing checked
30 July 2026 — getcoconut.com/pricing
Memo Bank
SMEs wanting relationship banking Not publicly disclosedNot disclosed
★★☆☆☆2.5/5
Get a Memo Bank quote (opens in a new tab)
View full Memo Bank details
Data availability
Limited public UK pricing information found during research — contact directly for current terms
Pricing checked
30 July 2026 — no detailed public UK pricing found
Open banking & A2A

Open banking & account-to-account payments

ProviderBest forPricingWMP scoreAction
GoCardless
Recurring/subscription payment collection 1% + 20p, capped at £4/transaction (Standard plan)
★★★★☆4.1/5
See GoCardless pricing (opens in a new tab)
View full GoCardless details
UK Bacs Direct Debit
1% per transaction, capped at £2
No setup fee or monthly minimum
Confirmed on Standard plan
Pricing checked
30 July 2026 — support.gocardless.com pricing article
Ecospend
UK-native, government-grade open banking Not publicly disclosed
★★★☆☆3.2/5
Get a Ecospend quote (opens in a new tab)
View full Ecospend details
Ownership
Acquired by Trustly (completed May 2022, FCA-approved Jan 2023) — now trades as "Ecospend, a Trustly Company," not simply renamed to Trustly
UK credibility
80+ UK bank connections via proprietary technology, no third-party aggregator dependency; the open banking provider behind HMRC tax payments since March 2021 — the one open banking provider on this page needing no "is it available in the UK" caveat
Pricing
Enterprise/quote-only — not published; site emphasises cost savings vs. card interchange rather than its own fee schedule
Pricing checked
30 July 2026 — ecospend.com
TrueLayer
Instant bank-to-bank payments at scale Not publicly disclosed
★★☆☆☆2.5/5
Get a TrueLayer quote (opens in a new tab)
View full TrueLayer details
Market context
UK pay-by-bank typically costs 0.1-0.5% or a flat 5-30p industry-wide — much cheaper than card schemes (1.5-3.5%), though TrueLayer's own rate isn't publicly published
Pricing checked
30 July 2026 — no public rate card found
Plaid
Bank data connectivity for apps Not publicly disclosed
★★☆☆☆2.5/5
Get a Plaid quote (opens in a new tab)
View full Plaid details
Pricing model
Typically volume/usage-based, quoted individually
Pricing checked
30 July 2026 — no public UK rate card found
Volt
Real-time account-to-account payments Not publicly disclosed
★★☆☆☆2.4/5
Get a Volt quote (opens in a new tab)
View full Volt details
Positioning
Global reach for pay-by-bank/A2A payments at merchant scale
Pricing checked
30 July 2026 — no public rate card found
Token.io
Open banking payment infrastructure Not publicly disclosed
★★☆☆☆2.3/5
Get a Token.io quote (opens in a new tab)
View full Token.io details
Pricing model
Enterprise/partner-led, quoted individually
Pricing checked
30 July 2026 — no public UK rate card found

This page is a comparison tool, not financial advice — nothing here is a recommendation tailored to your circumstances, and account fees, eligibility and features vary and change over time, so always confirm current terms directly with the provider before opening an account. See our Terms & Conditions. We may earn a commission when you sign up through a link on this page, at no extra cost to you. See our Affiliate Disclosure and Editorial Policy.

Ready to take payments too?

Pair your business account with the right card reader or gateway.

Compare card readers