Updated for 2026

Compare the best card readers for UK businesses

Portable and countertop card machines for taking chip, contactless and mobile wallet payments face to face — compared on contract terms, payout speed and who they suit best.

Pricing checked: 30 July 2026 We review provider pricing regularly. Some businesses may qualify for bespoke rates — see our .
🏆

Best overall

Square combines a competitive flat rate, no contract, and the clearest path to a full POS system as you grow.

💷

Best value

Lopay's 0.79-0.99% rate is the lowest of any provider we compared, with no monthly fee or contract.

Best for ease of use

SumUp — simple flat-rate pricing, cheap hardware and a well-known setup process for first-time sellers.

Estimates assume an average transaction of £35 and standard published UK consumer-card rates.

Compare:
Provider Best for Card fee Est. monthly cost* Contract WMP score Action
SumUp
Occasional & first-time sellers 1.69%
Simple pricing
None
★★★★☆4.1/5
See SumUp pricing (opens in a new tab)
View full SumUp details
Terminal price
Solo Lite £25, Solo £79, Terminal £135 (+VAT)
Payout time
By 7am next day, incl. weekends
Minimum monthly charge
None
International/Amex fees
Included in the 1.69% flat rate on the PAYG tier
Invoicing
Invoices Plus add-on, £8/month
Support
Phone, email, chat — hours not officially confirmed
Pricing checked
30 July 2026 — sumup.com
Zettle
PayPal users 1.75%
Simple pricing
None
★★★★☆4.2/5
See Zettle pricing (opens in a new tab)
View full Zettle details
Terminal price
Reader £29 (1st), £69 (additional), Terminal £149 (+VAT)
Payout time
Within minutes to PayPal balance
Minimum monthly charge
None
Payment links
PayPal QR 1.75%; Payment Links/Invoice 2.5%
Support
Phone 020 3467 8316, Mon-Fri 8:30am-5:30pm
Pricing checked
30 July 2026 — zettle.com
Square
Growing into a full POS 1.75%
Simple pricing
None
★★★★☆4.5/5
See Square pricing (opens in a new tab)
View full Square details
Terminal price
Reader £19, Terminal £149, Register £649 (+VAT)
Payout time
Next business day (instant for a fee)
Minimum monthly charge
None (Retail Plus £49/mo optional, 1.6% rate)
Ecosystem
Square for Retail/Restaurants software available
Support
Phone 0800 098 8008 Mon-Fri 9am-5pm; 24/7 self-serve
Pricing checked
30 July 2026 — squareup.com/gb
Zeller
Lowest domestic rate, bundled free business account 1.3%
Simple pricing
None
★★★★★4.6/5
See Zeller pricing (opens in a new tab)
View full Zeller details
UK launch note
Zeller (an Australian fintech) launched in the UK in April 2026 — newer to the UK market than most providers on this page, though an established brand elsewhere. Official UK site is myzeller.com/gb — zeller.co.uk is an unrelated parked domain, not the company
Terminal price
Terminal 1x £99+VAT, Terminal 2 £149+VAT — standalone Android terminals, not phone-paired readers
International/Amex fees
1.99% on Amex/international cards; MOTO 1.5% (domestic)/2.4% (other)
Bundled features
Free Zeller Business Account and Zeller Debit Card (unlimited cards) included at no extra cost
Payout time
Overnight into the Zeller Business Account; next business day if settling to an external bank
Support
24/7 phone (0800 917 9206) and email
Pricing checked
30 July 2026 — myzeller.com/gb/pricing
Lopay
Lowest fees overall 0.79-0.99%
Simple pricing
None
★★★★☆4.3/5
See Lopay pricing (opens in a new tab)
View full Lopay details
Terminal price
WisePad3 reader £35 + £6.95 P&P
Payout time
Essential: weekly. Standard: next day. Instant to Bank: same day (50p fee, £1,000 daily cap)
International/Amex fees
+1% surcharge on top of headline rate
Chargeback fee
£20 admin fee + disputed amount
Invoicing
Xero integration: 0.29% + 10p per invoice
Support
Phone, email, in-app chat — hours not officially confirmed
Pricing checked
30 July 2026 — lopay.com
myPOS
Multi-currency & built-in 3G/4G 1.10% + 7p
Simple pricing
None
★★★★☆4.2/5
See myPOS pricing (opens in a new tab)
View full myPOS details
Terminal price
Go 2 £29, Ultra £229, Flex+dock £69 (ex VAT)
Payout time
Instant to myPOS account; £1.50 flat fee to withdraw to a UK bank
International/Amex fees
EEA cards 2.20%+7p, Amex 2.45%+7p, other 2.85%+7p
Minimum monthly charge
Possible £15 inactivity fee on dormant accounts (unconfirmed on official page)
Support
24/7 phone, chat and email
Pricing checked
30 July 2026 — mypos.com
Teya
Scaling your rate down as turnover grows 1.59% (Start)
Simple pricing
Cancel-anytime membership
★★★★☆4.3/5
See Teya pricing (opens in a new tab)
View full Teya details
Terminal price
Teya Go £69 (launch offer £34.50+VAT), Teya Pro £179 (launch offer £89.50+VAT); "Pay Once" upfront rental option carries a separate 3-year terminal commitment
Tiered plans
Start: 0% membership fee, 1.59% per transaction, £29.99 minimum charge if monthly turnover is below £2,500. Boost: £19/mo, 0.99%. Thrive: £39/mo, 0.59%. Custom: bespoke for higher turnover
Payout time
Next-day settlement, including weekends and bank holidays, into a bundled Teya Business Account (0.10% surcharge if using an external bank account)
Support
24/7 phone, WhatsApp and email — phone +44 1283 896 876
Pricing checked
30 July 2026 — teya.com/pricing-store (Boost/Thrive rates via search citation, not independently re-fetched)
Viva Wallet
Multi-channel sellers wanting a bundled business account 1.2% + 10p (indicative)
Interchange++
No fixed contract
★★★★☆3.9/5
See Viva Wallet pricing (opens in a new tab)
View full Viva Wallet details
Terminal price
Mini Card Reader from ~£49, up to Pax IM304G ~£561; monthly rental from £7.99-£10.99/mo also available
Rate discrepancy — flag
Sources disagree on the headline rate: 1.2%+10p on an Interchange++ model per one set of sources, vs. 1.69% card-present/2.19%+24p online per another reseller aggregator. Confirm directly with Viva before relying on a single figure
Plan tiers
Zero (£0/mo, £3.99 min. charge), Default (£3.99/mo), Standard (£10.99/mo), Premium (£15.99/mo) — reported, not independently re-verified
Payout time
Next business day standard; Instant/Real-Time Settlement option at 0.5% fee (min €1), ~60 minutes
Support
In-app chat/chatbot only — no published UK phone number or support hours found
Pricing checked
30 July 2026 — cross-checked via multiple sources citing viva.com/en-gb/pricing (direct fetch timed out)
Tyl by NatWest
Transparent rates from a high-street bank 1.39% + 5p
Simple pricing
~12 months
★★★★☆3.8/5
See Tyl pricing (opens in a new tab)
View full Tyl details
Terminal rental
PAX A80 £13.99+VAT/mo, A50 £14.99+VAT/mo, A920 Pro £19.99+VAT/mo
Minimum monthly charge
None
International/Amex fees
Custom quote for Amex; over £50k/year also custom-quoted
Online gateway
£14.95+VAT/mo if needed (third-party reported)
Support
Phone 0345 901 0001, Mon-Sat 8am-midnight, Sun 9am-5pm
Pricing checked
30 July 2026 — tylbynatwest.com
Paymentsense
Bundled hardware & software add-ons 1.40% / 1.99%
Scales with volume
18mo-5yr or 30-day rolling
★★★☆☆3.0/5
Get a Paymentsense quote (opens in a new tab)
View full Paymentsense details
Terminal rental
£20+VAT/month
Minimum monthly charge
£24.95 — applies even in a slow month
PCI fee
£4.95+VAT/month
Chargeback / refund fees
£28 chargeback, 50p refund, £3.99 account-on-file
Contract
Not stated officially; third-party reports 18mo-5yr, exit fees from £120+VAT — or a newer 30-day rolling option
Support
24/7 claimed; some sources cite narrower hours for a different tier — reconcile before relying on this
Pricing checked
30 July 2026 — paymentsense.com/uk
Dojo
Hospitality businesses ~1.4% + 5p (indicative)
Custom quote required
~12 months
★★★☆☆3.2/5
Get a Dojo quote (opens in a new tab)
View full Dojo details
Terminal price
Dojo Go £149 upfront or £15/mo; Pocket £239 or £20/mo
Pricing
Package-based, e.g. £39.99/mo covers up to £3,999 turnover + 1% on excess — get a quote to confirm
Multi-location
+£10/mo per location, +£11.99/mo Plus add-on
Support
General 8am-6pm, technical 8am-11pm daily (third-party reported — Dojo's official pricing page blocked automated access)
Pricing checked
30 July 2026 — cross-checked third-party sources
Barclaycard
Existing Barclays banking customers ~1.6% (indicative)
Custom quote required
~12 months
★★☆☆☆2.8/5
Get a Barclaycard quote (opens in a new tab)
View full Barclaycard details
Terminal rental
Smartpay Touch ~£29+VAT/mo, Flex from £15+VAT/mo (third-party, figures vary by source)
Settlement
Next day for transactions before 7pm (cross-checked, not official)
Support
Card holder line 0800 008 008 Mon-Fri 8am-6pm; technical 0800 161 5343, 24/7
Contract
Exit-fee claims conflict across sources — confirm directly before signing
Pricing checked
30 July 2026 — cross-checked third-party sources (official site blocked automated access)
Takepayments
Rep-led setup for traditional businesses ~1.1-2.45% + 7p (indicative)
Custom quote required
12 months
★★☆☆☆2.5/5
Get a Takepayments quote (opens in a new tab)
View full Takepayments details
Setup fee
£0 (confirmed official)
Settlement
Next working day (confirmed official)
Contract exit fee
£40 admin fee + £30+VAT per remaining month
Support
7 days a week (confirmed official); specific hours not published
Pricing checked
30 July 2026 — takepayments.com
Handepay
Traditional bricks-and-mortar wanting account management ~0.3-2.5% (indicative)
Custom quote required
12-36 months (~18mo common)
★★☆☆☆2.5/5
Get a Handepay quote (opens in a new tab)
View full Handepay details
Access note
Handepay's official site blocked automated access — figures here are from cross-checked independent comparison sources, not confirmed directly on handepay.co.uk
Terminal rental
~£15-£30/month depending on type (countertop/portable/mobile), reported
No published minimum monthly charge, PCI or joining fees
Reported consistently across independent reviews
Add-ons
Virtual Terminal £9.99/mo (200 free transactions, 10p each after); Online Payment Gateway £19.99/mo (400 transactions)
Contract
Acts as a credit broker introducing a third-party terminal-hire/acquiring provider; auto-renews unless 3 months' notice given before term end; "hefty" exit fees reported but no fixed figure published
Support
New sales 0800 377 7382 (Mon-Thu 9am-5:30pm, Fri 9am-5pm); existing customers 0333 005 0999
Pricing checked
30 July 2026 — cross-checked third-party sources (official site returned 403 on every page tried)
Tide Card Reader
Existing Tide Business Account holders 1.5% + 5p (PAYG) or 0.89% + 3p (subscription)
Simple pricing
No lock-in (PAYG)
★★★★☆3.7/5
See Tide Card Reader pricing (opens in a new tab)
View full Tide Card Reader details
Important — not a standalone product
Only works alongside an existing Tide Business Bank Account, ordered through the Tide app. Card processing runs via a partnership with Adyen behind the scenes
Terminal price
£159+VAT standard, £199+VAT Plus model (built-in printer, lifetime free 4G); discounted to "from £99" when bundled with a paid subscription
Subscription tier
"Sell In-Person" plan: £17.99+VAT/month for the lower 0.89%+3p rate
Payout time — slower than most
Standard settlement is 3 working days; a next-day settlement add-on costs an extra £2.99+VAT/month
Support
Phone 0204 538 8443
Pricing checked
30 July 2026 — tide.co/features/card-reader
Phos by Ingenico
Zero-hardware tap-to-phone (via partner banks) Not publicly disclosed Not disclosed
★★☆☆☆2.5/5
Get a Phos quote (opens in a new tab)
View full Phos details
Hardware
£0 — turns an existing NFC-enabled Android (8.1+) or iOS (16.4+, iPhone XS+) phone into the terminal, no reader needed
Important — not a direct sign-up product
Phos is a B2B SoftPOS engine licensed/white-labelled through partner banks and payment providers (e.g. Tyl by NatWest's tap-to-phone product uses Phos) rather than something you sign up for directly — pricing depends entirely on the reselling partner
Standards
PCI DSS, CPoC/SPoC compliant
Pricing checked
30 July 2026 — getphos.com and ingenico.com (no merchant pricing published on either)

*Based on £5,000 monthly card turnover and £35 average transaction unless you change the figure above. Actual costs vary by card type, transaction method and negotiated rates — and custom-quoted providers in particular can vary significantly from the figures shown. Pricing, contract terms and payout speeds change frequently — always confirm current rates directly with the provider before signing up. We may earn a commission when you sign up through a link on this page, at no extra cost to you. See our Affiliate Disclosure and Editorial Policy.

Choosing a card reader

How to pick the right card reader for your business

Low or irregular sales volume?

Pay-as-you-go readers with no monthly fee and no contract — like SumUp, Zettle or Lopay — usually work out cheapest, since you only pay when you take a payment.

Steady, higher sales volume?

A fixed monthly fee with a lower per-transaction rate, like Dojo or Takepayments, can undercut pay-as-you-go pricing once your monthly card takings pass a certain threshold.

Need next-day payouts?

Cashflow-sensitive businesses should check settlement speed — most established providers now offer next-business-day payouts as standard.

Already bank with a specific bank?

Barclaycard Payments and Tyl by NatWest can bundle card acceptance into your existing business banking relationship.

Not sure which reader fits your business?

See recommendations tailored to sole traders, small businesses or enterprise.

Find your fit